Loading ...

Monitoring the connections to the cloud | IOA Knowledge Base Community

Posted in: All Community Discussions    IOA Knowledge Base Community

Monitoring the connections to the cloud

Subscribe to RSS
  • MWarchitect

Hi, I’m currently working for a large Healthcare provider in the US (my background is more traditional networking).  Multi/hybrid cloud computing is a fact of life.  Not sure if this is the right place to ask but are there any best practices (tools) for monitoring these cloud connected environments?

• paulmason
      Answered

It seems like you are in good company, I was just reading how cloud is gaining steam in the healthcare space: https://www.healthcaredive.com/news/cnbc-amazon-cerner-close-to-closing-on-deal/511605/

Monitoring cloud network connections over the traditional Internet model can be an IT nightmare. If your users are accessing the cloud over the public Internet, then every egress point of your network becomes a point of interest, the Internet is a black box you can’t get much visibility into, and the cloud environment doesn’t have your traditional monitoring tools. When a user reports, “I can’t access the application!” How can a network team troubleshoot the issue if they lack end-to-end visibility of the network path? If I’ve learned anything in my career, it’s that until the network team can prove it’s not the network… the network gets blamed.

VPNs over the Internet give some visibility—you can now see when the tunnel is down but you’re still left to troubleshooting the Internet and the cloud half of the VPN connection doesn’t offer much in the way of visibility.